Board & Staff

Our board members

Our board represents a cross-section of our community and has a passion for our organization and those we serve. The members work hard to ensure long-term sustainability of the organization and oversee that the expenditure of library funds.  Board members serve 2 three year terms.  Since this is a city/county library two board members are appointed by the county commission and two by the city commission.  Additionally, one city commissioner and one county commissioner serve on the board bring the total board membership to six.

  • Kalyn Botz


  • Mike Metcalf

    Vice President
    County Commission Representative

  • Liz Chandler


  • Hilde Van Gijssel

    Member at large

  • Melissa Remick

    Member at large

  • Ross Powell

    Member at large
    City Commission Representative

Our director

Our director is Steve Hammel.  He has a Masters in Library and Information Science, a Bachelors in History with a minor in Islamic Studies, and a Bachelors in Classical Languages and Literatures all from the University of Kentucky.  He is an active member of the North Dakota Library Association and the Association of Small and Rural Libraries and has additional professional memberships with the American Library Association and the Public Library Association.  He has served as director since May 2013.  Prior to that he worked at libraries in Iowa, Louisiana, and Kentucky.

Our staff

Our staff has a strong commitment to customer service. Their goal is to make this the best public library in the state by ensuring our patrons have access to as many learning and entertainment opportunities that the library can provide to our community.